Sing Along With Me!

I am not making these up. These are actual titles of actual folk songs, some of them quite ancient.

Andy’s Gone With Cattle (This is an Australian ballad about a young man going off on his first cattle drive, apparently.)
Blancheflour and Jellyflorice (Blancheflour is a beautiful young maidservant in love with Jellyflorice, the son of her employer. Their names sound like pancake mix and sticky candy.)
Blink Over the Burn, Sweet Betsy (Did Betsy get a hot cinder in her eye? If so, it’s going to take a bit more than a blink to soothe that burn.)
The Castration of the Strawberry Roan (That is just plain weird and sinister too.)
Fanny Power (Would make a great theme song for Buns of Steel.)
Give Ear to a Frolicksome Ditty (Yeah, that’s a very frolicksome title.)
Gonna Keep My Skillet Greasy (Try SOS pads.)
Hallelujah I’m a Bum (At least you’re happy with who you are, even if you’re nobody.)
He Went to Sleep – the Hogs Ate Him (Now I know never to go to sleep in the pigpen.)
I Wanted a Kitten to Love Me (But all he did was scratch and bite me and leave dead mice in my bed.)
I Will Bow and Be Simple (You have lots of ambition, don’t you?)
The Lean and Unwashed Tiffy (What or who is Tiffy?)
Let Simon’s Beard Alone (I didn’t touch it!)
Lumps of Pudding (Maybe a little less Blancheflour would have prevented the lumps.)
My Word, You Do Look Queer! (How flattering.)
Never Throw a Lighted Lamp at Mother (How about unlighted ones?)
The Squid-Jigging Ground (I’d love to se squids do a jig.)
There’s an Empty Cot in the Bunkhouse Tonight (Probably that’s because Andy’s gone with cattle.)
When the Ice Worms Nest Again (Ice worms? *looks apprehensively into the freezer*)

Leave a Reply

